The Character Award is a yearly project for our Year 8 students. The FRIARY Ethic reflects key values that are important for our students to show and develop throughout their time at the Friary School: Friendship, Responsibility, Independence, Aspiration, Resilience, You.

Indeed, The Friary Ethic is a key driver in our curriculum as we work to prepare children for not just exams, but wider life and general society.

The Year 8 programme sees students complete a portfolio demonstrating how they have developed these skills and the assignments acting as a bridging unit of core skills before they head into the final stages towards their Key Stage Four Pathways.

The current Year 8 are already working on their portfolios, but we also wanted to celebrate those Year 8 students who did so well last academic year.

The awards are judged on their quality and are graded Gold, Silver and Bronze and the following accreditations were attained:

Gold Awards

Skyla Ashby, Adam Brown, Brogan Crawford, Evie Jelfs, Louisa Nottage, Lucia Piskova, Zia Waldron, Emily Alkiviadou, Olivia Flint, Mia Hateley, Rose Kirkby, Felix Lindley, Sam Willis, Bethany Worrall, Francesca Albertazzi, Luke Aldridge, Lydia Bailey, Roxanna Clarke, Will Crawford, Larna Downie, Ella Hughes, Melody James, Will Lester-Jones, Madeleine Lydall, Hayden Moseley, Iago Navio, Fraser Neenan, Poppy O’Sullivan , James Pinches , Alesha Wheaver, Megan Alcock, Jacob Aston , Jenna Harrigan, Juilia Kluk, Sophie Lee, Erin O’Neill , Bailey Stanley, Sofia Yebbou, Oscar Afridi , Sophia Chan, Isabel Davies, Josh Hill, Lana Morris, Ruby Rushton, Lewis Snowden, Lily Stansfield, Sam Thackaberry, Max Thomas, Eden Wong, Jack Crocker, Penny Galway, Isla McCaskie , Finley Pike, Lily Bryant , Lilly Hartley, Bella Hoey , Louie Hollinsworth, Esme Lee, Jack Parton, Simao Reves , Francis Short , Ellie Vinnicombe, Isaac Wykes, Lucy Arrowsmith, Madison Barnes, Poppy Birch , Leo Brownhill, Lily Compton, Thomas Curry, Brooke Daniels, Olivia Dobson, Mylo Forbes , Will Forrester, Is’rael Frazier, Lydia Hung, Felicity Kelleher, Lily McRobinson, Callie Meakin, Mazey Reay, Daniel Roberts, Cameron Shaw, Samuel Siu, Layton Taylor-Kent, Zini Vinoth Kumar, Lexi Walkerdine, Amber Witcomb, Audrey Wu.

Silver Awards

Emma Baines, Phoebe Clements, Harley King, Xena Kumi, Jessica Milsom, Mia Riley, Jessica Baines, Alfie Bedlow, Ruby Hollywood, Tyus King, Evie Middleton-Tipper, Cosmia Mynett, Elvina Sira, Lily Wood, Isabelle Cantrill, Sam Dalton, Ben Gibbons, Rose Hartley, Alexeia Harvey, George Lydall, Laila Roche, Ben Short , Grace Willetts, Amy Hale-Phillips, Jack Perks, Ruby Wallis, Estee Wong, Ruby Cooper, Bentley Felton, Addison Follows, Ellie Irvine, Jack Mallender, Will Messenger, Taylor Mills, Harry Plumridge, Lexie Derry, Aimee Irvine, Eve Spatcher, Hugo Belton, Oliver Roberts.

Bronze Awards

Sam Butler, Scarlett Broderick, Ethan Hunt, George McRobinson, Jessica Mitchell, Jacob Perks, Harry Pilgrim, Poppy Ashton, Taylor Banks, Dan Clark , Charlie Evans, Charlie Gregory, Oliver Hall, Syrena Lui, Morgan Perkins, Brooke Sheldon, Rainie Ka Ching Wong, Martha Wynn, Jacob Ashfield, Max Barsby, Felicity Bowyer , Grace Clarkson, Bogdan Dubita , Rosie Holian, Kyra Kincaid, Will Pemberton, Lily Tickle, Ruban Atkinson, Lucie Buckley, Mailey Elcock, Holly Greenshill, Ethan Hilton, Joe Wilkes, Georgia Gleeson, Olivia Leighton, Ollie Reilly, Ed Stockton, Lucie Stokes, Florence Astwood, Anabel Cluer, Jenson Hems, Layla Hopkins, Erin Townsend , Lucas Wild, Jacob Brooks, Jessica Cleaver, Kian Edwards, Dan Hood, Molly Jones , Lily McBreen, Eve Morris, Lincoln Rogan, Oliver Simcox, Aran Takhar.

The students who achieved a Gold Award for all six pieces of their evidence went into a prize draw to win Amazon vouchers and the winners were: Will Crawford (8J1) & Olivia Dobson (8D1)

In addition, there will be ‘Special Recognition’ awards announced in September’s formal Prize Giving Awards Evening

Jamie Sleigh, Head of Seward House and Character Award Co-Ordinator, said: “The work produced by our Year 8s was fantastic to see, a lot of students provided evidence on events in school, for example Schools Shows, Sports Teams, Battle of the Bands and many more. However, the standout pieces of evidence were where students are showing their tutors their hobbies or further commitments outside of school and doing things to help others. We have great students in school and I’m looking forward to seeing what next year’s cohort produce.”