Congratulations to the Year 8 students who have taken part in our debating competition on the topic, ‘Brexit has been a total success.’ This was a very topical subject and the students impressed the judges with their independent research. 

The external judges Lyse Edwards (School Governor) and Greg Sugden (School Governor) chose Rosie Walker and Emma Derrick as the ‘Most Valuable Debaters.’ A special mention was also given to Abbie Hayward for her contribution to her team. 

Johnson won overall with a team that included Lauren Thacker, Iris Colloff, Rosie Walker and Olivia Howard-Calder. Seward came a close 2nd with Darwin 3rd and Garrick 4th.  

Helena Cresswell, Librarian, said: “This was a difficult topic to debate but our Year 8 students impressed us with their confidence and the amount of research undertaken. Well done to all the students who took part in the debates.”