This year saw the return of our annual Prize Giving Award Ceremony and we were delighted to host an evening of celebration with fifty plus students receiving awards from across a range of categories. Subject Awards were given out to those who had demonstrated particular academic success across either KS3 or KS4. Considering the additional challenges these students have faced during their courses of study, their achievements are even more commendable. The event took place in the newly extended Sixth Form Centre, which provided an inspirational setting, particularly for the younger students. 

The evening did not solely focus on academic achievement, however. Students were also presented with House Awards for their contributions to the wider school community. Richard Havill, Head of Seward House, said, “The House Awards are particularly special because they not only recognise all-round academic success, but also reward students who have been excellent House ambassadors, and have also represented the House in other ways, such as through contributions to House Charity Weeks and Focus Weeks, or sporting success during House competitions.” 

Finally, a small number of Year 9 students also received awards for their commitment to the Year 8 Character Award which sees pupils gather evidence showing how they have demonstrated each of the Friary Ethics in a bid to develop themselves beyond the classroom. 


Full list of awards and winners: 


KS3 Subject Awards 

Art                         Rosie Murray 

Drama                  Amelia Minihane 

DT                         Mollie Edmondson 

English                Felix Emanuel 

French                 Alfie Joines 

Geography          Harriet Dadds 

History                Amy Robertson 

ICT                       Jacob Fox-Bailey 

Maths                   Finbar Birchall 

Music                   Millie Smith 

RE                         Pawel Kluk 

Science                Pawel Kluk 

PE                         Poppy Grimshaw 


KS3 House Awards          

Darwin                  Abigail Butler & Niall Broderick 

Garrick                  Rosie Murray & Will Whyte 

Johnson                Maisie Alford & Alfie Joines 

Seward                  Finbar Birchall & Alice Thackaberry 


KS4 Subject Awards        

Art                                                      Mae Bennett 

Creative Digital Media                   Elliot Fox 

Engineering                                     Finlay Barton 

English Language                            Emily Turner 

English Literature                           Isobel Swinnerton 

Enterprise                                        Paris Lewis 

Film Studies                                      Cygnus Mynett 

French                                               Grace Williams 

Geography                                       Bryony Stephenson 

Health and Social Care                   Holly Wilson 

History                                              Finn Gregory 

Hospitality and Catering                Caitlyn Wright 

Maths                                               Jorge Allcock 

Music                                                Mae Bennett 

Performing Arts                              Evie Hulme 

RE                                                       Jenny Buckley 

Science Combined                          Andrei Muntean 

Science Trilogy and LSES Award   Katie Browning 

Sport                                                  Jacob Mielenewski 


KS4 House Awards          

Darwin                               Emily Turner & Flynn Mulligan 

Garrick                               Elisse Armitage & Jorge Allcock 

Johnson                             Grace Williams & Hugh Hutchison 

Seward                              Isobel Swinnerton & Finlay Barton 


Y8 Character Awards 

Y8 Character Award Outstanding Achievement   Eliza Viktorija Grotane , Matt Allen 

Y8 Character Award Special Recognition              Jayden Pilbeam , Isla Taylor , Montague Easton , Oliver Foley 


Matt Allman, Headteacher, added: “Celebration is an important part of school life and our Prize-Giving Evening is all about celebrating those who have excelled academically over the last year. These students have had to demonstrate a level of resilience far above previous years – all the usual pressures with a pandemic on the top. We are hugely proud of them all and they are an absolute credit to their families.”