Tuesday 23rd October saw Friary students celebrating their success during Awards Evening. Students were recognised in the following categories:

  • Current Year 12 students won prizes for GCSE attainment, and effort during their studies
  • Year 10 students won prizes for their attainment and effort, including attendance, during Key Stage 3 (Years 7 to 9).

In addition there were Heads of House Awards presented to Year 10 students for their contribution to Darwin, Garrick, Seward and Johnson respectively.

The evening was introduced by Deputy Head Boy Jaye Camacho (Y13), winner of last year’s prestigious Ruth Prouse Memorial Award, whilst the guest keynote speaker was Zoe Tornsey. She spoke about the importance of high aspirations from her background as an Oxford graduate, who has gone on to help students win places at Britain’s top universities.

Jasmine Brookes was this year’s Ruth Prouse Memorial Award recipient. She swooped the trophy by making statistically the most progress in the whole of last year’s Y11 cohort, with what was described by Mr Forster as “quiet determination.”

Prizes were awarded by Chair of Governors, Jamie Checkland. There was entertainment provided by Amelia Harrison (Y12) singing with Manolis Roberts (Y13) accompanying on piano.

Mark Drury, Assistant Headteacher, said “Although the prizes themselves are modest – a trophy or certificate in most cases – as a school we feel that public recognition is a suitable and deserved reward for students who have clearly worked tirelessly, aimed for excellence and have achieved some outstanding results.”

Winners in Current Year 12: Winners in Year 10:
Katie Hayward
George Armstrong
Isabella Acton
Oliver Barnard
Jack Sherbourne
Francesca Massey
Milly Bennett
Alex Wilson
Lewis Stanley
Jade Athwal
Megan McEntee
Abigail Lowther
Holly Fry
Anna Cooper
Jasmine Brookes
Lewis Stanley
Mae Watson
Emily Thompson
Penny Mace
Lucy Clements
Georgia Piper
Yulan Abela-Filer
Matt Sykes
Holly Baugh
Georgia Morris
Honor Douglas
Will Shadbolt
Anneka Horne
Dylan Wynne
Lauren Riley
Harry O’Donnell
Tabitha O’Sullivan
Emily Longmore
Xander Parke
Elliot Turnock